FurPlanet Banner

Note 08/12/2018: Shipping is on hold due to attending three conventions in a row, this note will be removed once regular shipping schedule is resumed.

Come see us at one of the following conventions this month: WorldCon (San Jose, CA), DenFur (Denver, CO), Mephit FurMeet (Olive Branch, MS)

Note 08/12/2018: Shipping is on hold due to attending three conventions in a row, this note will be removed once regular shipping schedule is resumed.

Come see us at one of the following conventions this month: WorldCon (San Jose, CA), DenFur (Denver, CO), Mephit FurMeet (Olive Branch, MS)

Product Index







Informational Links




Connect with us

Subscribe to FurPlanetNews

Email:
Visit this group

 

Save the Day
Item Details
Item Name:
Save the Day
Item #:
Fahl01
Publisher
FurPlanet Books
Product Type
Novel
Average Rating:

Novel by DJ Fahl, furry superhero action!

Product Image Gallery:
Item Reviews
Amazing book
Amazing book
8/29/2010
 
I have to say this is one of the best books I have ever read. My expectations where not too high when I got the book. But I was happily surprised when I started reading it, I didn't want to put it down. Every page made me want to read the next one. I would definitely recommend this book to every one.
- Cody dahl
 
Amazing...
Amazing...
4/2/2011
 
Picked this book up while at Furry Fiesta and I'm very glad I did. The story is very interesting and while sure it's about superheroes it has very realistic issues, I'd recommend this book easily and would love to see a sequel.
- Patrick Nichols
 
An excellent read
An excellent read
2/12/2012
 
Save the Day was an excellent read. While it wasn't flawless, it certainly has more going for it then against. To be clear, this book is a coming out story about a super hero, not a super hero story about a hero who comes out. When I originally purchased it I was under the impression it was the latter, but I still greatly enjoyed reading the book regardless of my initial expectations. The book manages to keep you entertained while juggling between the points of view the two main characters, Ted and Jay, as they struggle through their lives and problems. The book pulls this off well, you never really get bored of either of their points of view before it switches, and it never does it at really bad times. All the while keeping you wondering what's going to happen next. It also has some of the cliches super hero things are known for, which is good or bad, depending on how you think of it. I'd recommend this book to anyone who's a fan of both super heroes and coming out stories, as it does a good job catering to both. I'd give this book a 4.5, but, besides the fact that this site won't let me, there are more issues that got through editing then I feel is generally the acceptable margin of error. Those errors don't ruin the book in any way, but they might have you rereading a section or two trying to see what's going on.
- Dylan Wilson
 
damn freaking AMAZING
damn freaking AMAZING
7/23/2011
 
So yeah as I say before I love that book. At first I had bought it because Vince Suzukawa did the drawings, I admit it. But after I started it I couldn't put it down. I've read it already 15 times in a year and I had to buy another copy because my first was such in a state it was scary. LOL The characters are so attaching, the action is breathtaking, the situations are funny as hell. I have a freaking great time with it. I even end up rereading it after just finishing it at times. Sincerely it's an amazing cheer up book for me. All the characters are so cool and nicely created. You can really feel their emotions. Fahl did AMAZING with them. More than 5 stars, I would give him 100 stars and even more. I was stunned by that book to the point that I am really hoping he will come with more, and I would be the happiest if it is based on those characters still but I would buy I think, even blindfolded, any books he comes out with. Sincerely this book is a MUST READ! and the author is a very cool guy really. So if you wondering what to read, if you want a book that gives you a nice fuzzy feeling, that makes you smile, laugh or makes you wonder what is going to happen next THIS IS THE BOOK YOU NEED. Not joking there :) Karmakat
- Nicolas Franzetti
 
Epic Reading
Epic Reading
7/7/2011
 
I could not imagine how I would enjoy this book when I picked it up at AC, but when I started reading it, I couldn't put it down. D J Fahl's world is beautiful - filled with the down to earth people, with their own issues, loves and hurts, that you'd meet in every day life, but with the added twist of superpowers. You feel the panic and fear at the tragedy and hurt that befalls the main cast. You fall in love with the main characters, even as they fall deeper in love with each other. This book is one that has all the hallmarks of great reading - I want to read it over and over again, and I can't wait to make sure all my friends read it too!
- ANTHONY R WILLIAMS
 
epic.
epic.
3/12/2010
 
This was one of the most amazing books I have ever read. Going into it I was just thinking it was going so campy book a little like Queer man, but it was nothing like that, it was done the right way. I couldn’t put it down, every page drove me to read farther faster, wanting to know what was going to happen next! It was like finding x-men, doctor who, star trek BSG, and batman, for the first time, just wanting more and never wanting it to end!
- Anonymous
 
Heroic
Heroic
12/11/2010
 
I cannot recommend this book hard enough. It's a demonstration of solid writing, plotting, and editing. Excellent foreshadowing. A little more angst than anticipated, but the payoff is worth it. The super elements are enjoyable and absurd in good ways.
- Jonathan Hixson
 
Not Your Mother's Superheroes
Not Your Mother's Superheroes
5/8/2011
 
At first glance when you read Save the Day, you might think "Oh, it's a furry version of X-Men, and one of them happens to be gay." However, you're not going to see a dude with retractable claws mincing around in a yellow jumpsuit. In fact, the superheroes and supervillains here are original, with the possible exception of the telepaths, but it's hard to make them completely original. So you have Jay, a city planner in the city of Portland, Oregon, who has been with his boyfriend, Ted Rodriguez, for five years now, and they recently moved in together. Jay is about to find out that there's more to Ted than he ever could have guessed, which thankfully the author gets out of the way right at the beginning of the book. From there the book switches back and forth between the viewpoints of Ted and Jay. Ted has to deal with being in the closet to the other superheroes he works with and trying to come out to the team. Jay now must adjust to having a superhero for a boyfriend and the responsibilities and risks that it can bring. I really enjoy seeing a lot more of the "civilian" point of view of being attached to someone who is a superhero, and the fact that none of them turn into a cheesy damsel in distress or stupid risk-taker is a welcome relief. The fights that occur between superheroes and supervillains make for a fun read and each one is different. There's one towards the end that is so ridiculous you'll laugh, but it was clearly the author's intention to make that one as ridiculous as possible. You'll also find the ending to be full of surprises, and without giving a major point of the ending way, it would be nice if there was a real-life politician that behaved as the mayor of Portland does. Overall this is an excellent story and one that you will be reluctant to put down. So many crazy and funny things happen along the way to help break the tension at times because yes there will be angst, though not as over the top as some non-furry comics. Anyone who has ever had to come out of the closet in any form will be able to connect and sympathize with the characters and what they go through. Yes, you sometimes want to smack Ted, but in the back of your mind, you can't really deny that you might do the same things he does. I hope to see a sequel to this book and it certainly is a good possibility.
- Michael Mangiapane
 
Solid Work
Solid Work
9/17/2010
 
First, I'll focus on the good points, and this book has several that make it stand out. The plot is relatively solid and the obstacles the characters face aren't boringly easy to overcome. I didn't see much in the way of plot holes and the continuity seemed solid (unless there was some small error I missed). The characters are well thought-out with a cast of likable protagonists, saucy anti-heros, pathetic wannabe supervillains, and a few genuinely intimidating villains who help move the story along nicely. There are also a few small surprises and plot twists that keep the story lively and interesting. The setting is well-constructed and gives the reader a solid sense of the real complexities you'd expect of a world full of super-powered beings. Double bluffs, media spin, and a capricious public add a very current-events-savvy feel to the story overall. It avoids the two usual characterizations of superheros in film and comics- either as everyone's friend or a misunderstood vigilante- and combines the two into a nice, nuanced package. The weakest point of this book seems to be the overall state of finish of the manuscript. It still has a number of errors in spelling and grammar (such as the repeated use of "then" instead of "than") and a few stylistic seams that need smoothing (such as overusing the word "just" as an auxiliary verb, a habit I've caught myself using a few times). The backstory is often interjected awkwardly into the narration during action sequences, throwing the pace off slightly. I think it would be worth the effort to do another major edit and release a second edition. Also- this is strictly a personal preference of mine- I find the first-person present tense narration a bit odd and awkward at times, though it seems to be in vogue. Fahl also adds a twist by alternating between main character POVs in each chapter (chapter 1 is from Jay's point of view, chapter 2 from Ted's, etc.). This can be slightly awkward but it does help rein in POV nicely. All in all I enjoyed this book quite a bit and I would be thrilled to see a sequel. There is one villain in particular I think should have a bigger role in any future stories, and there are one or two plot points that aren't expanded to their full potential in the first book that leave the door wide open for a sequel.
- Justin Herndon
 
Too Much Information Wrecks A Good Story
Too Much Information Wrecks A Good Story
10/29/2011
 
**I apologize in advance for how the site turns my paragraphs into a wall of text** I bought this book at a Furry Convention after the author convinced me to buy it. I had been told not to get it by a friend who owned his own copy and had offered to lend it to me instead of spending money on it. He had already mentioned a bit of the issues with the book, but despite that, Mr. Fahl is a nice person in real life, and convinced me to get the book. He even signed it to me which was pretty nice. Let me say this right out, this book deserves four stars, maybe even more. It didn't get them because of a few things. But let me talk about the good stuff first before I get to that, because the good things about this book are why I have recommended it to my best friend, something I wouldn't have done if I didn't enjoy it. As a side note, this is a coming out story, not a superhero story. The plot resolves around coming out to friends/coworker/etc, and less about the superheroes themselves. Just to warn you. That doesn't make it any less of a story, but if you go into it expecting it to be something other than a coming out story, you're going to be a bit disappointed. Save the Day is a moving story. I admit, there were points where I cheered the main characters on and even once where I teared up. It takes a lot to move me when it comes to fiction, and this story touched those parts enough for me to react. I enjoyed the characters, I enjoyed the plot and the story of Ted and Jay. The characters were well done and each had their own personalities that grew on me as I read. As another reviewer stated, if this book was judged on the story alone, it would score a four easily. But there in lies the problem. This story is plagued with editing problems. As to if this is the editors, or the author, or both of their faults, I don't know. But there are punctuation issues such as (using made up examples) "What do you mean he likes me?." or "He said that it;s his fault." This distracts from the story and completely halts any and all suspension of disbelief. Not to mention that most word processing programs would have marked it with a large red squiggle. These could have been easily caught. Something else this book suffers from is useless paragraphs. (again, more editing could have fixed this) It feels as if the story was padded just to make it longer to meet a word count. You'd be given a super being's name, and then a paragraph or two of their powers and then what they have done in the world. Then you would never hear about them again. Though I am all for world building, the character that is telling the story (as it is in first person) already knows the character's powers/what they have done, so explaining it seems redundant. That being said, characters like Power Puma have their powers mentioned four times in the book, along with their ability to gather others to his cause, etc. Again, this gets tedious as you have already been told this once before. In the end, this book could have been half its size and still been as good as it is now, and would have a more streamline feel to it. Lastly, there are some awkward words that pop out and halt all forward motion. Take the word "Akimbo". Yes, I can figure that it means hands on hips, but no one uses this in the world as far as I know and as this was the first time I have ever come across it in anything I have read, it threw me as I had to pause and figure out what it meant. Yes, you taught me a new word, but unfortunately you also stopped me from being involved in your story by using 'fancy language'. It's a minor thing, as akimbo only comes up three times, but it's still enough to jar one out of the story. The plot is good, the story is enjoyable, and it brought about an emotional response. I DO recommend this book. I enjoyed it, and despite the things mentioned above I found myself looking for time to finish it to see where it went. The final battle was a bit of a let down, I still enjoyed how things panned out. BTW, I LOVE Cinnamon and Spice and almost wished there was something of them on their own. Pick this book up. Don't let my critique stop you from doing so. If you don't want to fork over the $20 for it, borrow it from a friend. It's a good read despite the above. I enjoyed it, and I went into it having a feeling I might not, especially after all I had heard about it. But it still came through, it still entertained, and I still fell in love with the characters. Just be prepared to slog through extra paragraphs and descriptions you can probably forget right after you read them because they are unimportant to the story. Get the book. Support this author. He's a good guy and I liked this story. That's all I can say at this point.
- Voice
 
Novel by DJ Fahl, furry superhero action!
Copyright © FurPlanet Productions, All Rights Reserved